top of page
  • Germaine

What are the different grades of jade?

There are several grading systems used for jade, and different cultures and countries may use different terms and criteria. However, here are the most common grading systems used for jade:

  • Traditional Chinese Jade Grading System - This system divides jade into three grades: A, B, and C. Grade A jade is considered to be the highest quality, with a bright, translucent color and no visible flaws. Grade B jade has some flaws and a slightly less vibrant color, while Grade C jade has more visible flaws and a darker, less attractive color.

  • Burmese Jade Grading System - This system divides jade into four grades: Imperial, Grade A, Grade B, and Grade C. Imperial jade is the highest quality, with a rich, emerald green color and excellent translucency. Grade A jade has a similar color but may have some visible flaws or imperfections. Grade B and C jade are lower quality, with more visible flaws and a less desirable color.

  • Modern Jade Grading System - This system is used by some jade dealers and divides jade into ten grades, with Grade 1 being the highest quality and Grade 10 being the lowest. This system takes into account color, translucency, texture, and other factors to determine the quality of the stone.

It is important to note that grading systems can vary depending on the region and the individual dealer or expert. Additionally, there are different types of jade, such as nephrite and jadeite, which may have different grading systems and criteria. When purchasing jade, it is important to work with a reputable dealer and to ask about the grading system and criteria used for the specific type of jade you are interested in.

Copyright @ ARL Jade - Singapore Jade 


Related Posts

See All


bottom of page